Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

First off, the results of the First Ever Official Curlygrrl’s Xanga Poll are in!  A whole 11 of you participated, which is kinda awesome since I wasn’t sure there were 11 people even reading this thing.  Of the responses, me staying at UD was far and away the favorite, garnering 36% of the responses.  Next most popular was “Some other place Bernadette hasn’t thought of yet” with 18% of the votes.  In a separate communication Young Queen specified that by “Other Place” what she really meant was Marquette in Milwaukee, in large part because then we’d be in the same city.  Plus, Marquette really does have a nice theology program.  But I digress.  St. Louis, Duquesne, Notre Dame, Boston College, and some Catholic U. in Seattle all got votes too.  KJ kindly researched whether or not there are actually any Catholic Universities in Seattle, and discovered that yes, there is (it’s Jesuit, of course).  The vote for BC came from a total stranger who apparently just loves Boston and thinks everyone should live there.

What will I do with this information?  I don’t know.  Probably nothing.  But… well, we’ll see.  In the meantime I’ll have to think of something else you guys can give me your opinion on.

Weekend news?  There’s not a lot.  My ill health continued to plague me.  On Saturday the whole family got together to spend an entire day celebrating both Big Brother’s and AnniPott’s birthdays (they’re both in July).  We started out with a picnic lunch at Young’s Dairy, followed by the activity of your choice (most of us ended up at the driving range – the first time I’d ever swung a golf club outside of a putt-putt course), the obligatory Feeding Of The Goats, and ice cream.  Then we piled into the van and headed off to see Wall-E, which was a really good movie (and yes, it’s confirmed, I am a sap).  Unfortunately, when I walked out of the movie my head, which had been hurting before we went in, now felt like someone was trying to press a marble through my skull.  Then when I went to the bathroom my stomach let me know know that it didn’t appreciate my lunch food choices, not one bit, and it was going to make me stay there for a while.

So I did.  When I finally emerged my family agreed to take me back to the Family Homestead so I could pick up my car and drive home, letting me take a pass on the rest of the day’s activities.  I spent the rest of the evening on the couch with an ice pack on my head.  Sunday wasn’t much better.  I started off feeling pretty ok, but after Mass and a little grocery shopping I had to retreat to the couch again.  Sigh.

Today seems to be pretty good.  I woke up with my head still hurting, but ibuprofen and coffee have chased it away, at least for a while.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed and hoping that this time it’s gone for good.

