Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Last night I got back from the Boston Tea Party, the highlight of my dancing year.  And, friends, I have danced with John Lindo.  If you recall, that was on my list of Things To Do Before I Die.  It’s been there since I discovered West Coast Swing a year and four months(ish) ago.  The clips of John dancing with Blake Hobby and Deborah Szekely were instrumental in making me fall in love with West Coast.  Last year at Boston Tea Party I asked him to dance, but it didn’t work out.  I’d been waiting a whole year for another chance.  It was worth it.  See, every time I’d ever seen him dance, whether on a video or in person, not only was he a fabulous dancer, but the girl he was dancing with looked like she was having the time of her life.  She looked like she felt beautiful and sexy and honored by the gift of his full attention.  I wanted that, particularly at a time when I left the floor after the majority of my dances feeling like a complete failure.  Those days are mostly gone, but I still wanted whatever it was that I saw in those women’s faces.  Now I know why they look that way.  I don’t think I’ve ever felt so taken care of in a dance before, and so appreciated.  Every tiniest styling I did got reactions of approval.  I’ve rarely laughed so much just from pure delight.  It was wonderful.

I also danced with Peter Strom, which was wonderful in a different way.  I had seen him dancing in the Superstar competitions last year, and though his dancing was pretty darn sweet, it didn’t occur to me that I might want to dance with him.  Then this year I discovered the Crossover Room, where they play music suitable for both Lindy and Westie – mostly the groovy, Motown music I adore.  He was one of the main DJs there, and sometimes came out from behind the table to dance with people.  His dancing looked like so much fun – groovy and bluesy in the very best sort of way.  Early on Saturday night, while the crowd was still thin, I diffidently approached the table and asked if he would be willing to dance with me.  He said yes, that we could take the next one, that he would pick a good song.  I smiled and retired to the sidelines to breathe.  And then the next song came on and we danced.  I’m not sure how to describe it.  I don’t know if I’ve ever experienced a lead being so completely in control of the dance before.  I loved it.

It’s always a little risky asking one of the Superstars to dance.  You could have the dance of a lifetime or you could … not.  For example, on Friday night I asked one of the other Superstar West Coast instructors (who shall remain nameless) to dance.  I had been watching him for a little while, and it seemed like he was having fun.  The instant I touched his shoulder and asked him if he would like to dance, however, all the life drained out of his face.  He nodded politely, but the expression on his face said, “Oh, great.  This clueless unworthy peon is making me dance with her.  I hope I can get through it without catching her cooties.” I immediately knew I had made a mistake, but hoped that maybe he would be pleasantly surprised.

So we started dancing, and from the first beat of the song, he was entirely disconnected.  He stood there and led one basic, baby move after the other, with no hint of styling or musicality, just going through the motions while he waited for the song to be over.  There was no opportunity for me to show him what I could do, and he wasn’t paying attention enough to have noticed if I did.  It sucked.  Plus the dance floor was really, really crowded.  Since he wasn’t actually watching me I didn’t feel like he cared whether I collided with anyone else or not.  There were several close calls, making me more and more nervous as the dance went on.  By the end of the dance, I was so tense that when he finally did lead something a little complicated, I missed the lead entirely.  I did not miss, however, the expression of disgust on his face.  I think it’s safe to say I’ll never dance with him again.  I don’t think I’ll ever take one of his classes again either.

Still, for the chance at another dance like the ones I had with John or Peter?  Yeah, I’ll risk it.

Prof. Peat Quote Book:
“That’s actually the way Steven Pinker reacts when you stab him.  I tried it after one of his talks one time.”
(Re: a famous South American philosopher) “His nickname among philosophy grad students was parlor snake.”
“Meaning is so bourgeois.”

