Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have been dieing to post this for weeks!  This is a rehearsal video of the routine the UD Swing Club took to the Dayton Swing Smackdown this weekend.  The official competition videos haven’t been released yet, so I can’t post that, but for weeks I’ve been wanting to show the world how awesome my UD kids are.  I’m so proud of them.  Every one of them just started dancing in September.  Most of them had never really danced anywhere but in the room where the video was taken.  Not one of them had seen a swing jam circle, or had any idea what kind of competition they were going up against.  But they went out there and just busted their stuff out.  It was awesome.  I screamed myself hoarse cheering for them.  I had a really good time this weekend.  I enjoyed the workshops a lot.  My butt muscles are so sore from all the fun, lungy moves I learned.  And then, I had one of the funnest dances ever to “Twistin’ The Night Away” at the Latenite.  Then at Practice Session on Sunday people weren’t occupied with practicing their routines, so we were able to have an actual practice for the first time in quite a while.  Then, to top it all off, we went to City Barbeque for dinner.  I used to say that if I ever get married, I want to have the reception catered by City Barbeque.  I love it so much, I bought the shirt.  (It’s funny – on the back the shirt says, “So tasty your tongue will slap your brain.”  I sometimes forget that it’s back there, so I’m always surprised at the, um, interesting reactions it can provoke.)  It’s been too long since I was able to do dinner with my swing friends.  I’d half forgotten how much fun it can be.

The other fun thing about the weekend was hosting people.  I ended up with seven people staying at my house Saturday night.  I had the Cleveland people, plus a couple of random extras.  The Cleveland people had to leave early on Sunday (they did leave an Ella Fitzgerald CD for me by way of thank you ), so the only one who was still there when I woke up Thor.  So we made cottage cheese pancakes (the ones that are just like Young Queen’s grandmother’s recipe), and drank coffee in the kitchen.  Thor said he was slacking since I had to make my own coffee when he was around, but I had him busy putting the pancake batter together.

So… I’m pretty happy.  My UD kids were awesome, the workshops and dancing were great, I finally got Johnsy to try my pancakes, and on top of it all, I got City Barbeque.  Life is good.  And now I think maybe I’d better do a little homework.

