Tags

, , , ,

Last night at my adult ballet class I discovered my first sexy ballet move.  It was a little surprising.  I mean, I know that some guys consider ballet very sexy, but I always thought it was mostly a case of girls in tight clothes kicking their legs high.  The movements themselves seem almost asexual, tightly disciplined, seeking an almost abstract purity of line and form that comes from consummate control rather than overt sexuality.  It’s very, very beautiful and highly expressive, but sexy?  Not so much.  Last night, however, the teacher had us do a variation on our grand battements (the move where you kick your leg as high as you can to the front, side, or back.  We were kicking to the side, and instead of bringing our legs straight back down you bend the knee, bring it in towards your body, then reverse it, tracing a little figure 8 with your knee.  Then you take your leg back out to the side and straighten it again before bringing it down.  I had never done this before, so I had to ask the teacher to show me more clearly.  I picked it up right away, and as I watched myself do this in the mirror I thought, “Huh.  That’s kinda hot.”

It’s been interesting joining this ballet class after taking a semester of ballet at my school.  In the class I was part of before, we all started at roughly the same place and progressed together.  The teacher knew that we had no technique, no knowledge of ballet fundamentals, so he always started at very basic places.  Then he sometimes progressed to what my current teacher considers more advanced things.  However, you can’t do everything in a semester, so my knowledge is uneven.  For example, I have done five million tombe pas de bourre’s (though it turns out I had not been doing them well), but I had never done a jete.  Also, I’m used to doing tendu’s, frappe’s, and ronde de jambe’s much more quickly than my current teacher prefers.  It’s a challenge sometimes to just slow down.

On the subject of slowing down – I slept all day today.  I did not intend to.  Somehow it just happened.  I’ve been hovering on the edge of sick for a while, but I kept myself going.  Then today I just… didn’t.  I didn’t hear my alarm at all.  Johnsy says she came and woke me up at one point.  I don’t remember that at all.  I was awake for maybe half an hour around noon, and then I fell asleep again until 4:30.  Then I got up, drank my coffee, and had my first meal of the day.  I have a commitment to keep this evening, so I’m going to go do that.  And then… and then we’ll see.  I don’t know if I’m going to be able to sleep tonight.  I may stay up late catching up on homework.  And then, I might end up just watching the end of The Terminal.  We’ll see.

