Tags

, , , , , ,

Have I ever mentioned how totally ubiquitous my family is?  Seriously.  People, like, know us.  I’m always running into total strangers who know me.  Of course, a large family (11 kids) of eccentric, extremely Catholic people is somewhat memorable.  Plus, we all look pretty much the same, so people who don’t really know me can tell at a glance that I’m a [Family Name] girl.  It’s like Dayton is the world’s largest small town.  There was the time I only had starter checks (the kind without your name and address printed on them) and the cashier at the bookstore agreed to take one anyway because she knew my father, and the time the police officer decided not to give my oldest sister a ticket because she was one of the [Family Name] that go to Corpus Christi, and “they’re good people.”  And then there was the first time The Virginian showed up at Wednesday night swing.  He kept looking at me while I was giving him and his two friends their baby beginner lesson.  Finally he said, “You’re a [Family Name], aren’t you!” I was kinda creeped out until he explained that he was a [Other Family Name], part of a family which have gone to church and school with my family for, well, a long time.

Yesterday I was running out the door (late, as usual) for class.  I hadn’t figured in time for snow removal, so I was whizzing around my car clearing it off as quickly as possible.  Across the street, I vaguely noticed one of my neighbors, a trim older lady dressed in the kind of sweats retired people prefer, emerging from her own front door.  This was not important, so I dismissed it, until she started crossing the street, headed straight for me.  “Hello!” she called out.  “I’ve been wanting to say hi for a while now.  I think I know your mother.” It seems that she has been going to the same Tuesday Morning Prayer Group that my mother has attended for the last twenty-seven years.  When my mother had told everyone that I had moved, my neighbor put two and two together, and has been watching her chance to greet me ever since.

I’m telling you, they’re everywhere.

Prof. Peat Quote of the Day: “Be more specific or I’ll inflict something else upon you, like comparing the second half of the Parmenides with Hegel‘s Phenomenology of the Spirit.  In Sanskrit.”
Bonus Quote (when discussing ethical dilemmas): “Suppose you discover that GE is poisoning Indiana… I know, there’s an upside.”

