Tags

, , , ,

I think I may be excited about school for the first time since… since… probably this time last year when I was all stoked about Contemporary Theologians.  Don’t get me wrong.  There have been some classes I’ve enjoyed, classes that have challenged me, classes that were deeply interesting.  Just there hasn’t been a class that I really looked forward to, that I actually wanted to be at.  Last semester, well, let’s just say I got a lot of letters written during class.

This semester didn’t look any different.  The only indulgence class on my schedule was Kant and 19th Century Philosophy, a class I don’t technically need, but wanted just to keep my brain alive.  Plus, I know almost nothing about Kant and he’s pretty key to a lot of the stuff I study. Today we met for the first time, and friends, this is going to be an awesome semester.  I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard since Prof. Txiki carried a chair around the room hoisted over his head.  I think I’m going to have to start bringing my tape recorder with me to class because I can’t keep up with the things that come out of this guy’s mouth.  Already I’ve started a quote book:

Bernadette’s Prof. Peat Quote Book
Introducing himself: “I just returned from a sabbatical in China, so I’m having a hard time getting back to the reality-based community.”
Regarding Mary Wollstonecraft: “She’s writing so people can understand what she’s saying, which is not a traditional approach with these people.”
“Who is saran wrap named after?  Why do kamikaze pilots wear helmets?  These are hard questions.”

He also rated the difficulty of 19th century philosophers using the circle, square, diamond system they use to rate ski runs (Hegel got double black diamond plus an exclamation point), and told bad banjo jokes.  (Q: What did the banjo player get on his SAT? A: Drool.)

