Tags

, , , , , ,

Christmas cheer has been hard for me to come by this year.  It’s not just my Old Roommate’s death.  Even before that I was having difficulty finding appropriate holiday spirit.  There was the more than usually disorienting finals on top of a really tough semester, some personal challenges, other stuff, and well, I’m just not very merry.  Mostly I’m tired and sad.  I kinda want to crawl into bed, pull the covers up over my head, and not come out again until after New Year’s.

Unfortunately, this is not an option.  Tonight I lit the last candle on the Advent wreath.  Christmas is literally just around the corner, and I would like to enjoy it.  In order to encourage this, I have compiled a small list of things that make me happy this time of year.  I thought I’d share.  I hope it helps make you happy too.

Bernadette’s List Of Christmas Cheer

  1. Fresh pine. The first year my sister was in college while she was studying for finals she happened to watch an episode of Martha Stewart Living that showed making fresh pine garlands.  As soon as she got home she went on a scavenging expedition all over the neighborhood surreptitiously gathering evergreen branches.  She spread them out on sheets laid on the living room floor and turned the heaps of branches into wreaths and swags and sprays for the windows.  They were beautiful, and they made the whole house smell so good.  Today at the grocery store I picked up a fresh pine spray and took a deep breath.  It smelled like Christmas.
  2. Roses. The first Christmas that I lived with my grandmother roses happened to be dirt cheap.  I love roses more than almost anything, so I bought dozens and dozens, filling the house with them.  They were in big vases on the dining room table, in little vases in the bathrooms, in pitchers in the bedrooms, with single blooms in bud vases tucked wherever there was space.  I loved it so much that I made it my personal Bernadette Christmas tradition to have roses ever since.  Things have been so disorienting that I almost forgot this year.  Then today I walked into Meijer’s to do some last minute grocery shopping.  The flower stand was by the door, full of roses as usual, and I remembered.  It’s Christmas.  I need roses.  So I got some.  I could only afford one dozen, but they look beautiful in the large vase to put by the nativity set and a little one for my bedroom.  If I have roses, then it must be really Christmas.
  3. Pomegranates. Every year I watch and wait for the pomegranates to arrive.  They’re one of the few foods you can’t easily get year round.  Now the season is a couple of months beginning in November, but back in the day you were lucky to find them during just a few weeks in December.  They were expensive, so my parents would buy just one for all of us to share.  We carefully peeled back the red, leathery skin, revealing the seeds like jewels nestled inside.  We broke the sections apart and portioned them out between us, careful to make each share exactly equal.  I would eat the seeds one by one, feeling the burst of sweet tart juice on my tongue.  They’re still one of my favorite fruits.  Besides tasting good, they’re so beautiful.  It’s like eating garnets.  Plus they’re romantic.  In the Song of Songs (the sexy part of the Bible), when the groom is praising the bride’s beauty, he tells her, “Your lips are like a scarlet thread; your mouth is lovely.  Your cheek is like a half-pomegranate behind your veil.” (Song of Songs 4:3)  It’s a wonderful thing.
  4. The Messiah by Handel. When I was growing up this was one of the things my mom would put on while she was working in the afternoons.  Most people only know the Halleluia Chorus, but we were used to listening to it all the way through.  I know it so well it’s almost seeped into my subconscious.  The strings in Thou Didst Not Leave His Soul In Hell, the trumpet aria in The Trumpet Shall Sound, the fierce choral parts in But Thanks Be To God.  I think I could sing along to it before I could understand the words.  The parts I love the best are actually all from the section about Christ’s death and resurrection, but somehow it’s still associated with this time of year.  I was listening to it as I drove around today.  It felt like home.
  5. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel. I love that song.  When I was growing up, during Advent before dinner every night we would turn out all the lights, light the Advent wreathe, and sing O Come, O Come, Emmanuel.  We’re a musical family, so often it would be multiple verses in four (or five or six) part harmony.  I know there were nights that I couldn’t stand it, nights when I really, really didn’t want to hold my sibling’s hand and sing.  When I look back, however, all I can seem to remember is my family gathered warmly together in the glow of the candlelight and the song rising from our hearts to God’s.

That’s what I have so far.  Merry Christmas!!!!

