Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Ever have one of those days where everything seems to happen at once?  Yesterday was kinda like that for me.  I had come home late and tired the night before from dancing all weekend, and then that morning I had to be up early to go see my academic adviser before work.  See, it’s well past the time when good little undergrads should have registered for next semester and me, well, I’ve been having this life and I just haven’t yet.  For once I made it miraculously on time (I know, I can’t believe it either).  I like my adviser quite a bit, especially since after we talked a while, we figured out that if I switch a few things around and take the capstone course this semester, and if Prof. Clause, Prof. X and Prof. Cart will write recommendations for me (I know they will), I have a strong case for being admitted to the Masters program next Fall.  That would be so nice.  I don’t think I have words for how nice it would be.  I’m so ready to be done with undergraduate classes, friends.  You have no idea.

Then when I went home in between work and school, there was a postcard from 14 waiting for me.  It was so good to hear from him.  It’s been a while, since he’s been on a thirty day silent retreat.  However, I have to admit that the postcard left me a little confused.  He sent it from a Benedictine abbey in Kansas.  He says that the Jesuits sent him there to reflect more on his silent retreat.  I have no idea what that means.  If the Jesuit novitiate is in Louisiana, what is he doing in Kansas? 

After dinner and before swing club I went to visit my old roommate.  There’s no pretty way to put this.  She’s dying.  I’ve been wanting to go see her, but first I barely had time to breathe, and then I had a cold, and then… yeah, I was chickening out.  When I went to go see my Hero Doctor on Friday I saw one of her relatives who works in the doctor’s office.  She told me that things were touch & go with my old roommate, that they don’t know from day to day if she’ll make it.  That was when I knew it was time to quit procrastinating and just go say good-bye.  Between work and leaving for Pittsburgh I knew I couldn’t see her on Friday.  All weekend I was praying that God would keep her alive long enough that I could see her when I got back.  He did, and I did.  I don’t know what else to write.  When it comes to this, there is no happy ending.

