Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Lately it seems like when I look at the iLike music picks on my facebook page, the five that are up seem especially significant for my life at the moment, or particularly descriptive of me, so much so that I grab a pen and a piece of paper to jot the titles down.  It reminds me of those memes people will send out where you’re supposed to put your mp3 player on random, and insert whatever song comes up next into a list to come up with the soundtrack of your life. For example, the other day when I looked the lineup was:

Bernadette by Paul Simon
Lonely No More by Rob Thomas
Be Bop A Lula (She’s My Baby) by Gene Vincent
Movin’ and Groovin’ by Sam Cooke
A Sunday Kind of Love by Etta James

This was on a day when I was feeling lonely, despairing a little of ever finding the right guy for me (the dancing boys aren’t that interested in theology and the theology boys don’t want to dance – and that’s just the beginning of what I need in a guy), but all in all pretty happy with myself and my uniqueness.

Perhaps this is a natural result of putting music I really like on my list, but I would think that would only give me lists of songs that I enjoy.  For example, the list that’s on my profile now is:

Boombastic by Shaggy
Spiderman Theme by Michael Buble
Mable by Goldfinger
Why Don’t You Haul Off and Love Me by Bull Moose Jackson
Good Morning by Gene Kelly

Although the last song is particularly appropriate (it is, after all, morning), I wouldn’t say that these songs or this combination of songs says anything in particular about me beyond that I like them, and I have a thing for songs about girls named Mable since I played the character of Mable in the movie we made.  It’s been interesting to think about, though, so I thought I’d share.

In other news, this weekend I’m going to Pittsburgh to dance!  After various commitments made me miss PittStop last year, I swore that nothing, no, nothing would make me miss it this year!  Plus, I really wanted to see JohnJohn.  He did this traveling youth ministry thing with me back in the day, which made us something like spiritual siblings.  Now he’s getting his doctorate in Philosophy at Duquesne.  I haven’t seen him in way, way too long.  Plus, he just got engaged, so I’ve got to meet this new “sister in law.”  Just thinking about getting to see him again makes me smile, and then there’s all that dancing on top of it.  Hurrah!

