Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday I spent the afternoon working in the kitchen, baking bread for the formal dinner I went to last night, among other things. I was wearing one of my bibless chef’s aprons over a long jean skirt and a grey sweater.  My hair was pulled back in a clip at the nape of my neck.  At one point I slipped on my favorite new ballet flats to take something out to the trash.  When I was outside, I looked down at myself and realized that I was dressed like Cinderella, even down to the shoes.  Make my hair blond and exchange the clip for a ribbon, and we’d be pretty much there.

To make the similarity even more exact, later that night I exchanged my work clothes for formal dress, including a long, ballgown skirt and many, many rhinestones (of the vintage variety).  The party I went to was, unfortunately, not a ball – although it did include dancing, and I danced.  However, no one gentleman monopolized my time.  Also, I came home with all my shoes fully accounted for.  I did lose a button off my skirt.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll hear a knock on the door and open it to find a liveried lackey standing outside holding my skirt button ensconced on a large pillow.  When I can produce the matching skirt, he’ll forthwith lead me to his employer, who will be the Man of My Dreams.  We’ll live happily ever after, of course.  That’s what you do in fairy tales.  Unfortunately, for this to really work, that said Man of My Dreams had to have also been attending the party last night.  While there were some truly excellent guys at that party, I’m pretty darn sure none of them are the Prince Charming I’ve been waiting for.  Sigh.

Though Baker did award me her personal Best Dressed Award.  So I think, all in all, it was well worth it.

Today when I went home for the Family Christmas Planning Meeting Part II, I picked up the envelope from the Ohio Poetry Day Association, containing a Certificate of Merit for winning First Prize in the Welcome Aboard Poetry Competition, as well as a check for $35.  It was pretty sweet.  I have to fight the urge to frame the check and keep it forever instead of cashing it.  Don’t worry.  It won’t be a long fight.

