Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Yeah, I don’t think I’m going to get my Dorothy Halloween costume done.  Sigh.  I actually got part of the fabric cut out, but then a major household emergency came up which is going to keep me fully occupied for some time.  So no Dorothy, but this morning I came up with an Utterly Marvelous Idea!  I’m going to keep it under my hat (one of the vintage ones in the closet) until the Halloween Swing Dance, but trust me, you’re gonna love it!

Diva was in town this weekend, which meant that I could recruit her to help me with my spins at Practice Session yesterday.  I need to work on keeping my balance while turning, propelling the turn from my core muscles, making my spins intentional, and (eventually) consistently finishing the turn on the first two counts, leaving room for double spins and other coolness on the triple step.  (I apologize to all those for whom the last sentence was gibberish.)  In practical terms, what this means is that on Sunday I spent about two hours spinning until I was dizzy, stopping long enough for the room to stop moving, and doing it again.  It was, shall we say, interesting.  I was going to say it was dizzying, but then I realized that I just couldn’t.  I am not that far gone.  Not yet.

Midterm Break is coming up.  This semester has flown by.  I just barely started actually doing homework – it feels like we ought to really be on week two or three.  I had been planning to have another Cooking Day with LM on Thursday.  I was going to cut Theology On Tap to do it, and had prepped people to take over my jobs and everything (Wren was going to be the Interim Nametag Queen).  Yesterday LM messaged me and said that it looks like she won’t be able to do it after all, was there another day that would work?  I looked at my calendar and realized that the next weekday I have free will be the day after Thanksgiving.  And I think my mom wants me to help clean carpets that day.

Sigh.

