Tags

, , , , , ,

Just so you know, I would like to record that I am a doof.  On Thursday The Other One told me a joke that was so wonderfully geeky I didn’t get it.  It was National Talk Like A Pirate Day, so I had told him my favorite pirate joke (Q: How much did the pirate pay to get his ears pierced?  A: A buck an ear/buccaneer! – yeah, MDoS told me that one).  It was awesome watching the subtle interplay of reactions across his face as he got the joke, looked at me to make sure that yeah, I just told him a joke that bad, decided not to laugh, and then determined the appropriate revenge.  This revenge was another joke about ears, equally as bad:  “Q: How many ears does Mr. Spock have?  A: Three – one left ear, one right ear, and a final front ear.”  His delivery was great, full of enthusiasm and verve.  I laughed, expressed my deep appreciate for the amazing geekiness of it, and ashamed at my own lack of geek, tried to cover up the embarrassing fact that I didn’t get it at all.  Still, I was so impressed that I told this story several times over the weekend.  It wasn’t until I told Baker on Sunday, and she told the joke back to me that I finally, finally got it.  It’s Final Frontier, not final front ear.

Yeah, I’m a doof.

