Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

The last 24 hours have been full of surprises.  Last night our speaker for Theology On Tap suddenly canceled on us.  He’s in the construction business, and there was something about pouring concrete and the forms breaking.  All I know is that an hour before TOT was supposed to start we had no speaker.  Flicka, the Duchess and I were all frantically making calls to our other speakers to see if one of them could pinch-hit for us.  It was no good.  Then Flicka and Troy had an idea: instead of Stump The Priest, we should have Stump The Catechist!  After all, we had Troy, who’s been teaching RCIA for lo-these-many-years,  The Other One, who’s getting his doctorate in theology at UD, and myself, also no slouch when it comes to these things.  Before I knew it I was being introduced by the Duchess, taking my seat on a bar stool on the little stage at Oregon Express as part of the panel for Stump The Catechist night.  And it was fun.  Really fun.  Of course, I was up there with Troy and The Other One, so I knew if I wasn’t right about something, one of them would catch me.  We had some really interesting questions, all the way from “Did Jesus throw temper tantrums?” to getting into the nitty-gritty of free will vs. predestination (I prefer von Balthasar’s Theodrama paradigm for that) and the problem of evil.  The audience really liked it, which was great.  One person wrote on their evaluation that they liked it better than Stump The Priest!

In ballet class we watched a video on Rudolf Nureyev.  At one point they showed some footage of a role he danced with Margot Fonteyn. It was the smallest clip – all they did was walk forward some steps toward each other, but suddenly I had goosebumps all up and down my arms.  It amazes me that something so small can be so exquisitely beautiful.

Yesterday I also finally got around to fixing my t-shirts with writing on the front so I can wear them backwards.  I realized a while ago that I can’t modestly wear t-shirts with writing across the front.  It just doesn’t work.  Johnsy had the idea that I could wear them backwards, which worked perfectly for some of the shirts.  With others, though, the neckline came too high and both made it obvious that I was wearing the shirt backward and made me feel like I was choking.  So I decided to cut them.  (A boat neck neckline is much more flattering to me anyway.)  I had a whole shopping bag of shirts waiting for me to get around to this.  Finally yesterday after I got home from school I headed down to the basement sewing center and spent a very happy hour with my sewing shears snipping the heck out of my shirts.  And boy, are they cute!  I’m wearing one of them now, and I can’t wait to wear the others.

Then last night when I got home from TOT I was so jazzed from speaking I decided to do some reading downstairs before I went to bed.  On Wednesday Bounce had surprised me with a whole bag of books he’d dug out of his private collection for me, including the first eight books of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series.  At some point I must have fallen asleep, because I jolted awake this morning, still on the futon, a crick my neck from the awkward position, looking at the clock which said 8:16.  Yeah, I was supposed to be at work at 8:00.  So that was another surprise.  Sigh.

