Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m playing hooky tonight.  I had plans to either dance at Riverscape or go to my regularly scheduled Catholic Young Adult Thing.  I did neither.  Instead I ended up on the couch with a good book abandoned beside me, sleeping the sleep of the just (and utterly exhausted) until Johnsy came downstairs and made dinner.  Now I’ve eaten, and am half- drowsily dinking around at various things (including this blog post) until it’s time to fall asleep again.  Hopefully when that happens I’ll sleep like a baby (the kind that are old enough to sleep through the night) until morning.  I’m half asleep already. 

This is what has me so worn out:  first, I started back to school on Tuesday, and not only did my life become hyper-busy, but my walk to school is now twice as long as it used to be (maybe three times) and uphill both ways.  Second, last night was the final lesson in the Fast Lindy series I’ve been taking.  This means that basically I ran like crazy in circles (in, hopefully, a controlled manner) for an hour and fifteen minutes before the dance even got started.  Then I changed my (soaked through) shirt, ate dinner, and danced some more.  I danced until I was dizzy with exhaustion.  Then I danced three more dances.  I went home, showered, and barely had time to put moisturizer on my face before my head was suddenly on the pillow and things went dark.  Ironically, an hour later I found myself wide awake, staring at the ceiling, muscles sore, head aching, completely unable to get back to sleep.  I got up, did a few chores, took some ibuprofen, journaled a little, and finally nodded off about an hour and a half later.

Then today I started Beginning Ballet.  It was lovely.  I have to say that I adore my leotard and tights.  I put them on and suddenly I look like a dancer.  It’s the most wonderful thing.  And ballet seems to be half stretching, which was exactly what I needed.  It’s funny – we got a good workout, but at the end I was so stretched and loose and relaxed that I just kinda leisurely ambled my way home.  I defy anyone to do anything besides amble after a ballet class.  I don’t think it’s possible.  After food, a shower, and errand running I sat down on the couch with the book Bounce gave me last night, thinking, “I’ll just read for a little bit.”  And that was it.

I should sleep well tonight.

