Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday I went to the library and checked out books.  Completely unnecessary books.  I went through the Science Fiction section and plucked books off the shelves like ripe plums (and yes, I do have a bowl of those on my kitchen counter at the moment).  I was thinking the other day how long it’s been since I read something just for fun.  Between school, moving, and other things, I haven’t really been able to sit still long enough.  But my break is coming up (one test tomorrow and then I’m done), and I intend to take full advantage of my time off.  I will read things, cook things (Little Mama is going to come over to help with that), and put up shelves.  Lots of shelves.  And maybe paint a bread box.  It will be good.

At some point I also really need to do German, but I’m not going to think about that right now.

I’m enjoying being domestic.  Tuesday I installed cup hooks over the sink to hang some of my FiestaWare teacups from the cabinet in a pretty, multicolored row.  That way they’re low enough for Johnsy to reach easily, and they look so nice – like a cheerful fringe echoing the colors of the plates in the plate rack just above.  I’m in the process of painting a shelf that will go on the wall by the window over the kitchen table.  I’m putting on layers of brilliant colors taken from Jonathan Green’s paintings, first orange, then cobalt blue, then deep green.  After I get it painted, I’ll sand it lightly at the edges to show all the layers, hang it on the pale yellow wall, and put teapots on it.  And it will be beautiful.  I think I’m going to paint my bread box too.  It’s white wood, but it’s gotten battered enough in its various moves that it looks smudgy no matter how much I clean it.  I’m thinking of painting it the same colors as the shelf – the body deep green, the door cobalt, and the inside the beautiful, sunshine orange.

It’s funny – I think I’m one of the few people I know who actually keeps bread in their bread box.  But then I have a pair of gloves in my glove compartment too.  Very handy on cold winter mornings…

