Tags

, , , ,

I’m taking Theological German this summer (the first time I’ve ever taken a language that’s actually still being spoken).  It’s only been a week, but already there have been some interesting moments.  There’s a Fraulein Meijer who has a thing for her mailman (he seems to rather have a thing for her too – she has him wrapped around “ein klein Finger” – her little finger).  There also have been several quotable quotes.  So without further ado, I present for your delectation:

Bernadette’s Quote Book:
Prof. Chick:
“Everybody knows someone by the name of Heidi.” (somehow I have escaped this…) and “This list is incomplete and has some inaccuracies.”
But the best is from Prof. Lichen: (describing how to pronounce the word bose) “You pucker up like you’re gonna kiss somebody, but don’t let your tongue slide to the back of your mouth.”

I gotta tell ya, friends, there’s nothing like sitting around a table with a bunch of theology grad students, all snickering at the same thing and not looking at each other.  Did I mention that most of my fellow students are guys?  Yeah.  There’s some things that are the same, no matter what you’re studying.

And that’s it for today, friends!  Join me next time for more adventures in randomness with Bernadette! 

