Tags

, , , , ,

Last night I went over to Johnsy’s house.  It was Women’s Group night, which I’ve had to skip for so long because of my protracted Homework Emergency.  It was just the two of us, which was good.  We sat out on the front porch – Johnsy in her chair and me on the swing – and talked about things.  The air got soft and cool, and the light gradually faded away.  I could see down the line of front porches, like an arcade stretching away into the distance.

After a while we went inside.  I got out my paint chips and started laying them against white surfaces trying to see how the color would look with the white trim in my room.  I’m going to paint the walls of my room pale grey, which will contrast with the gloss white of the trim.  Grey feels calm and soothing to me, and it will make all the colors on my things (deep blues, pinks, red, greens) really pop.  Johnsy printed out the lease, and I signed it, and she presented me with my very own key.  Then I went and got the first load of stuff out of the back seat of my car.  The bags of winter scarves went on the closet shelf in my room, and the china went on shelves in the basement.  I even unpacked a little of the china, stacking the fragile cups with the lily of the valley, and the thin saucers with their gilt edges.  I do love my dishes.  This is the first time I’ve lived in a place where I could actually get them out, have them available to use.  Just looking at them made me smile.

I have officially started to move.

