Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday was a good day, even if it started out frustrating.  It was going to be a tight schedule.  I had a meeting from 9 to 10, going to the plant nursery to buy garden things with my roommate from 10:30 until noon-ish, then head off to The Greene to dance outside all afternoon.  Then I was going to come home and garden in the cool of the evening until it got too dark to see.  That was the plan, anyway.  Unfortunately, I didn’t wake up in time for my meeting, and then my roommate remembered that this was the morning that she was supposed to get some of the fluid drained off her abdomen.  It takes about half an hour to do the drain, and then she needs about an hour to recover.  It was 10:30, and the nurse who was going to do the drain was already late.  My roommate’s making phone calls, and I’m trying to figure out how we can juggle things so I can still go dancing.  Cuz plants are cool, but all I really want to do is dance.  (Sing with me:  All she wants to do is dance, dance!  And make romance…)  Meanwhile the nurse is later and later, and not answering her cell phone.

In the end I left my roommate recovering from her drain (it was very draining…) on the couch while I ran off for a half hour or so of dancing.  I only got three dances in, but it was worth it.  I wish I could have stayed.  Mighty Mite and I were making conspiracies to play in the fountain later.  But I had promised to go buy these plants with my roommate, and then to plant them so the yard will look lovely for The Kiddo’s graduation (it’s the last thing I need to do before I move), so off I went to keep my promises.

I really do love gardening.  I can’t wait to do it in my own garden.  But I got the deadwood pruned off the roses (only a few scratches), and the containers planted with geraniums and assorted trailing thingies.  I watered everything that was parched and dry, and even got some houseplants repotted.  I sprayed the roses with fungicide and tied the climbing rose up on the trellis we bought for it (no scratches, cuz it’s a thornless rose).  The front yard is starting to look somewhat respectable, even if not quite up to Oakwood standards.  I came in as the light was failing, pretty much covered with dirt and utterly exhausted.  It was a good day’s work.

I will say this, however.  Gardening is giving me the most interesting collection of tan lines.  I have very pale skin, and burn easily.  This year I decided to embrace the alabaster skin, and laid in a supply of SPF 50 spray-on sunscreen.  So far, though, I haven’t quite figured out how to make sure it covers absolutely every inch of skin.  There’s always one little strip that gets missed.  I have the outline of exactly one camisole strap on one shoulder from gardening last weekend, and a little strip up by my neck from yesterday.  I’m going to be rather interestingly mottled by the time I’m done with this.  Sigh.  Good thing it doesn’t really matter what my shoulders look like.

