Tags

, , , , , , ,

Such a gorgeous day today.  I’m having the girls over for women’s group tonight.  When I went home on my lunch break I went upstairs to my attic and opened all the windows so it will be breezy and light and airy when they come over.  It’s been a long time since I had the girls over for women’s group.  It used to always be at my place, but then keeping my room clean all the time got to be a little much.  We were meeting at Panera for a while, and then at Pooka’s house.  Tonight it’s Old School Women’s Group at Bernadette’s.  I will make tea, and perhaps scare up something good to eat.  Mostly, though, I need to vacuum the floor…

I am so bored at work today.  There isn’t that much to do, and both of the real secretaries are gone.  So I’m all by myself in the office, feeling the breeze from the open window, listening to the birds outside.  I would like to be outside.  Specifically, I would like to be on my front porch right now, in the porch swing, reading something.  Or writing something.  Or doing nothing in particular.  Or napping.  There’s nothing like an open air nap, especially if the air is soft and warm, like today, and there’s a small occasional breeze.  Napping with all the windows wide open is close, but not quite as good.  Maybe on my days off (later this week) I can take a nap on the porch swing.  Sigh.  One day, perhaps, I will have regular access to a real, live hammock, and then there will be mad napping!

One of the things I’ve been doing is checking my blogs.  I’ve totally fallen in love with this one: Smitten Kitchen.  You should all go check it out.  The pictures are so gorgeous, and the food sounds so good.  It’s making me think about things like how long it’s been since I baked bread, and the asparagus that’s at home in my vegetable drawer right now.  I’m thinking that I’m going to have to cook it tonight, or perhaps tomorrow.  I think I want to have it with hollandaise sauce.  Now there was a time (back when I was in chef school) when I could make hollandaise sauce like it was nothing.  I didn’t even use a double boiler – just held the bowl right over the flame and regulated the heat by moving it closer or farther away as I whisked.  I wrote an essay for my Basic Food Prep final on how to make hollandaise.  I was taking it early because I was going on a trip during finals, and my teacher sent another student over to the room where I was taking it to tell me not to write a novel.  I remember searching for just the right words to describe the exact lemony yellow color that you want the egg yolks to be.  These days, however, I think I’d better stick with the more foolproof Blender Hollandaise recipes.  I think that would be wise…

In a little while I’ll do some filing.  Sooner or later it will be five o’clock.

