Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Little by little I am climbing back into health.  Friday night I was able to dance again for the first time in over a week.  That was wonderful.  I got a compliment too – one of my first dancing compliments in a long time.  As I was changing my shoes at the end of the night, a sweet middle aged lady came over and told me that she just had to catch me before I left, that I was such a great dancer, and she and all her table had just been in wonder at the way my feet and my partner’s feet were perfectly in synch on “Tangerine.”  And the thing is – for the life of me I can’t remember which dance that was, or who I was dancing with.  Was I doing Balboa with Linus?  Charleston with Bojangles?  I have no idea.  I wish I knew.

My fingers are itching to get back into the garden.  I remember my first semester back at school when my reward for making it through Midterms was going to the nursery and buying flower seeds.  This year I’m mooning over the flower catalogs.  Dutch Gardens has these gorgeous dahlias.  I’ve never been much of a dahlia fan, but for some reason this year they’re catching my fancy.  And then there’s the peonies.  I’m such a sucker for peonies.  My roommate does not care for them because of the ants, so we don’t have any in the garden right now.  I tell her that the ant problem is easily fixed, but she has this horror of insects of any kind in the house.  So I don’t think I’m going to win that one.  Someday I will have a garden with peonies in it again, and bleeding heart, and lily of the valley.  Perhaps there will be a stand of trumpet lilies tall in the corner too, perfuming the air on July evenings.  And roses.  I daydream about roses, especially climbers.  I have a firm belief that any structure could be improved by a climbing rose.  (Once I amused myself on a long car trip by imagining a suspended system of boxes and irrigation hoses to grow climbing roses up the St. Louis Arch.)  We have a gorgeous Zephirine Drouhin rose in front of the central pillar of our porch.  This will be its third summer, and I think it will be amazingly beautiful.  Already it has little leaf buds on it.  It makes me smile just to think about it.

