Tags

, , ,

Once upon a time, when I went into Starbucks it was a fairly simple affair: Venti or Grande latte, please, not too hot.  And then they invented Sugar Free Cinnamon Dolce Syrup.  And, oh my friends, that stuff is so good!  Yummy warm goodness in a cup, that’s what it is.  And all I really want is a Venti latte, not too hot, with a shot of Sugar Free Cinnamon Dolce Syrup, but then you have to distinguish it from the Cinnamon Dolce Latte, which is a special drink involving whipped cream and Cinnamon Dolce Topping (mostly cinnamon sugar sprinkles, from what I can tell).  Only I don’t want the whipped cream or the special topping.  So by the time I’m done talking with the barrista I’m getting a Cinnamon Dolce Latte, sugar free syrup, no whipped cream, no topping, not too hot, any old kind of milk is fine, and the cryptic symbols scrawled on the cup now wind their way all around the whole cup and halfway up the side.  Sigh.  But, oh, it is so worth it.

Yesterday I took The Kiddo to her first college visit at Wright State.  My roommate asked me to take her since she wouldn’t be up to it herself.  It was a lot of fun.  I wore my I Am A Responsible Adult clothes (blue cords, blue cardigan sweater, pearl earrings, hair all braided up on top of my head) and asked Serious Questions about financial aid, housing options, and study abroad programs.  It was interesting – I go out to Wright State every week, but all I ever see is the small part of the Student Union that I dance in.  Who knew that there’s a whole actual campus back behind that?  Good times.

