Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“Well it’s plain to see you put a hurtin’ on me,
And it’s a natural fact that I like it like that!
So workout!
(Baby, work it!  Work out!)”
Jackie Wilson – Baby Workout

So this song has been in my head for the last several days.  Yesterday I told my boss, a 50-something black woman, about it.  She told me that her mother and father used to dance to this song.  She called what they did “fast dance.”  She said that sometimes she’d be upstairs, the music would start, and she knew exactly what her parents were doing.  When she was telling me this she had a look on her face that was really neat, like she was remembering something special, something that made her feel good even forty years later.  They say that the best thing a father can do for his children is to love their mother.  Someday I’d like to have children who can remember the way their father and I danced together, and know how much he loved me – how much we loved each other.

