Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today I discovered that I am not the worst dancer in my tap class.  I had just assumed that I was.  I can’t do these jumpy things the teacher wants us to do for the life of me.  My cramp rolls could use help.  I had time steps down until he told us to add arm & hand movements, and suddenly they went all over the place.  However, today I was watching another person and I realized that I am not the worst dancer in the class.  I’m not the best, nor probably in the top fifty percent.  But I’m not the worst either.  And that’s kind of nice.

I love today’s feast day, and yesterday’s (All Saints).  I wore my saint bracelet both yesterday and today in honor of the feasts.  For those of you who haven’t seen it, it’s a charm bracelet that I made with the medals of some of my favorite saints.  I don’t tend to wear it much because it’s so heavy it can leave red marks on my arm and it makes too much noise.  Usually it stays in the bottom of my purse.  But yesterday and today I’ve worn it (it’s making little clinking noises against the keyboard right now as I type).  I know that the whole concept of saints and saintly intercession is very bizarre to non-Catholics, but it’s one of my favorite things about my faith.  I love knowing that there are all these people who love me and are praying for me even though I’ve never met them.  I love knowing that I can turn to them, that they care about me, and are willing to help me out any way they can.  I have friends in every time and every place simply because we all love God and are united in the Mystical Body of Christ (just cuz you’re dead doesn’t mean that you’ve left the Body of Christ!).  I have a friends who are early Christian martyrs, friends who died for their faith in Japan and Vietnam, and friends who lived lives of incredible sanctity in France, Italy, England, and Peru.  I am on a first name basis with the first woman to earn a Doctoral degree in Germany.  My friends know the cost of discipleship.  They know exactly how much it takes to be holy, to love God with all your heart.  And they made it.  They did it right.  How do I know?  Well, they’re in heaven now.  And they can help me get there too.  And yeah, every time we sing the Litany of Saints it makes me cry.

So happy Feast of All Saints, and happy Feast of All Souls, and may they one day be one and the same Feast day!  Also HAPPPY BIRTHDAY to the Young Queen, whose birthday was yesterday (dearest, I love you!).

And speaking of intercession, if you guys could keep my brother in your prayers.  The fever that we thought was licked is back again.  We’re not sure why.  It’s staying around 101 to 102, and he’s losing weight.  This isn’t a good thing for a guy as tall’n’skinny as my brother.  The doctors don’t have any answers yet, and he’s trying to keep up with his daily routine.  It could be general American Living In A Third World Tropical Country stuff, which might go away as he gets better acclimated to things.  But, well, pray, ok?  Thanks.

