Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last night was supposed to be women’s group.  There’s a group of us that meets at Panera and talks about Life, the Universe, and Everything.  Well, mostly we talk about our lives and the guys we’re interested in/dating/engaged to.  Actually, I’m the only one who goes regularly that isn’t seriously dating/engaged to someone, so mostly they talk about their wedding plans, and I talk about the latest way things didn’t work out how I’d hoped.  (Side note: Seriously, I think I’m giving up on this.  It isn’t that I don’t know any good men.  I know too many good men!  And they all love me!  A lot!  Just not like that.  I’m getting really tired of watching my guy friends blush over girls who are not me.  So I don’t think I want to meet any more good men.  I’ll just meet the mediocre ones, and then I’ll know from the beginning that I’m not interested in dating them and I won’t get my hopes up.  Ok?  Sigh.  Side note over.)

Anyway, back to the women’s group thing.  So I was there at Panera, early because we had all said that we were going to meet early to write the postcards for this latest session of Theology on Tap.  So I got my coffee, found a booth back where we usually meet, and spread out the stuff – addresses here, postcards here, pens here, etc.  After a while of waiting I decide to just start without them.  So I started writing postcards.  And still no one came.

Then Hot Josh showed up.  (Hot Josh is one of my dearest guy friends.  He’s getting married to Pixie Girl a week from Friday.  I intend to dance a lot at their reception.  It will be good.)  The people he was supposed to meet at Panera never showed up either.  So he sat and helped me with the postcards, and we talked.  It was really good.  We haven’t had much of a chance to talk lately, and there was a lot of catching up to do.  When I looked at my watch again it was half an hour after women’s group is supposed to start, and there were still no other women.  I checked my phone.  Sure enough, I had messages.  Slugger had two flat tires, Sweetness got held up at work… the usual.  So last night Hot Josh was my women’s group…

