Tags

, , , , ,

This is what I did after swing on Monday:  I went home, collapsed into bed, and pretty much didn’t get out again until yesterday afternoon.  On Tuesday afternoon I went downstairs to drink some chicken broth.  When I was done I washed my cup, went back upstairs, and slept for two hours.  It wasn’t so much the congested chest and the nose flowing like a faucet as it was the fever that sapped my strength and made it hard to think.  I did have some rather interesting dreams, though…

Wednesday I started feeling some better, and Wednesday afternoon I was able to actually get some stuff done.  So I started testing myself.  First I decided to see if I could walk to the post office (one block away) and mail some packages.  That went without a hitch, and after resting a little while I was up for more.  I’d been planning on jumping into the Swing II series at Elegance, and if I missed the lesson Wednesday night I would need to wait until the next month to try again.  I decided that if I could make it through an hour of lesson (not nearly as strenuous as an hour of dancing) I would be able to go to work the next day.  Not that work is so thrilling, but I need the money.  I took great quantities of antihistamines to make sure my nose wouldn’t run, washed my hands five times, tucked a handkerchief up my sleeve just in case, and headed out.

To my surprise and delight, I made it through!  It was a really good lesson – I learned some stuff I’ve been wanting to learn for a while now.  I even stayed for a little of the dancing afterwards.  Then I did fast Charleston with Lone Wolf, and started feeling a little unsteady.  Then Trogdor spun me a lot, and my head started buzzing.  Then I went home, drank some chicken soup, and went to bed.  But I made it into work this morning!  So I’m not all the way better, but I’m much better than I was.  Woohoo!

