Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Friends, today has been A Bad Day.  Really.  Although it’s taken a small turn for the better.  We’ll see how it goes.  But this is the story:

It all started this morning when I woke up.  Late.  I had an exam for my European History class (our grade is based entirely on two exams and one paper, so this counted for 1/3 of my grade), and I meant to wake up about 4am to study.  It wasn’t 4am, it was 7am, and I was already late.  And sick.  There’s been this cold hanging around for a little while now.  I’ve been ignoring it, hoping it would take the hint and just go away.  Only it’s apparently one of those pushy kinds of colds.  I denied it living space in my head with copious antihistamines, so it decided to move into my chest.  Where it currently resides.  So my chest is hurting, my athsma has kicked up, and when I take my inhaler it smarts really bad on my irritated bronchial passages.  Yeah.  It’s not a sensation you want to experience all that often.

So I went, and I studied.  I studied hard, I studied long.  I skipped both lunch and my New Testament Greek class to study.  (Now you know how serious I was.)  I was nervous as a cat, and massively hopped up on caffiene (God bless the good folks who decided to put a coffee bar in the basement of the UD library), but I had my stuff down cold.

I went to take my test.  Prof. Herd gave us our assignment: Write an essay in which you discuss how the First World War (1914-1919) exerted an impact on European Conservatism.  Be detailed and comprehensive in your answer.

So I wrote.  Like a smart test taker, I started with my outline.  It was a beautiful outline.  It set the scene with the state of Conservatives in all the major countries in Europe, and proceded to analyse in detail the year by year impact on Conservatives of the War.  It was really something.  I’ll show it to you if you want.  This is what I forgot: I only had an hour fifteen to take the bloody thing!  Yeah.  It was bad.  Prof. Herd called the ten minute warning, and I hadn’t even started on the actual war.  So I tried to cram all of World War I into ten minutes.  I only got up to 1917.  I showed my outline to Prof. Herd, hoping he would let me turn it in along with my blue book.  He didn’t.  I can’t convey the depth of the longing to bang my head against any convenient wall I experienced at that moment.

Then I had to go to the library to prep for this stupid Archdiocesan meeting my sense of duty had snookered me into agreeing to attend tonight.  Not only was it going to be deadly boring, but they were going to try to serve me food I can’t eat (I have this weird diet I have to keep to),  plus it was going to make me late for swing.  (Just because I can’t breathe is no reason why I shouldn’t dance.  At least a little.)

As I went into the library I was trying to think of anything that could make this day better.  Maybe Mel Gibson’s equally cute but unmarried younger brother would show up on my doorstep with a dozen roses and a heart full of love for only me (and God).  Maybe the Powers That Be at UD would suddenly decide that, not only did I have enough life experience to be immediately granted both my BA and MA, but they were going to pay off my student loans just cuz they like naturally curly hair.  Maybe something totally unforseen (not, however, involving any danger to anyone’s life or limbs) would happen and the stupid meeting would be cancelled.

And then it happened!!!!!  I logged onto my e-mail, and found the most wonderful e-mail ever waiting for me!  The boiler broke at the Archdiocesan offices, the whole building is freezing and there’s no meeting!!!!!  Plus there was an e-mail from my New Testament Greek teacher – I didn’t miss anything after all!  She’s got a touch of the flu, and cancelled class.  Wahoo!  Is it enough to totally redeem the hurting chest and the blown exam?  No.  But, oh friends, it sure helps!

