Tags

, , ,

I really like swing dancing.  I may have mentioned it before, but I thought I’d say it again just in case you weren’t aware of it.  You know.  Just in case. 

Last night at swing there was some Drama going on with a few of the junior members of the group.  I don’t know them very well, but I felt sorry for the one guy caught up in it.  He’s a good guy, and I know he had wanted to really get better this quarter.  Instead he was stuck in the corner with the Drama.  So I did the “ya wanna dance?” eyebrow waggle his way, and he eagerly started forward.  Suddenly I felt my arm grabbed by Mr. Clean, who chortled and pulled me out onto the floor.  As we were beginning to dance he motioned Junior to come out too, and turned the song into a lesson on “sharking” – stealing someone else’s partner.  It was truly awesome.  Girls can do it as well as guys, although the guys sometimes short-circuit the fun by just giving you their hand when they see you waiting.  On the last song we had one more follow than leads, so whatever girl ended up free watched her chance and stole someone else’s guy.  I think by the time we were done I had danced with every guy on the dance floor.  Oh, good times!

