Tags

, , , ,

So the last few days have been kind of interesting for me.  I made a pretty big decision.  On the surface it looked like I made it really, really fast, but I can trace the roots of it back to last summer.  I’ve been way overcomitted for a long time, and I’ve been trying to discern what I should let go of.  This became more intense about a month ago when I started thinking seriously about what I would need to do in order to get my BA & MA at the same time.

I had been thinking that youth group was something I would be able to hang on to, but recently some things made me rethink that.  Long story short, I think God is calling me in other directions – to focus more intensely on school, and on the young adult ministry that I do.  I’ve talked it over with lots of people I trust, including my spiritual director, and have gotten a lot of confirmation that this is the right decision for me.  So the upshot is, after Christmas I will be stepping down from helping out with the Corpus Christi youth group.

Last night I was able to tell most of the leaders, and the kids in my small group.  I hope that everyone will understand my decision.  I’ve really enjoyed my time with the youth group in a lot of ways, and I will miss the kids and the other leaders a lot.  I hope I’ll be able to stop in and say hi from time to time.  Just right now I think I need to focus on other things.

