Tags

, , , , ,

And now, for the Rest of the Story…  or Chapter II in the Bat Saga, if you prefer.

So Friday I ended doing some shopping after work, and then sinking into a book at Books & Co. for way longer than I had planned (gee, that never happens…), so I didn’t get home until about 9:50.  Almost the instant my feet crossed the threshhold Hot Josh was on the phone for me, wheedling me to go to see a movie with him and 14.  They said they were going to see War of the Worlds, so I said I’d go.  I had to grab something from my room and when I went upstairs the bat was there again, swooping all over the place and making dives for the widows.  I thought, “Well, I’ll deal with it when I get back.”  So I just shut the door on the bat, and went on my merry way.

After the movie (which stank, by the way – next time 14 is picking the movie) I asked the guys if they would maybe be willing to come deal with this little bat problem I’d developed.  My boys, they’re so sweet!  They said they’d take care of it.  So they followed me home (they followed me home, Mom – can I keep them?).  It was about 1:30 am at this point, so we quietly crept up the stairs of the dark house.  I went into the bathroom to get towels for the guys to catch the bat with while they waited in the hall.  As I was in there I heard a female voice saying, “Bernadette… ?” I looked out in the hall.  One of my housemates was standing there in her nightgown, staring at the two guys in the hallway.

Turns out, while I was gone the bat had found its way out of my room into my housemate’s room.  After a short, but intense struggle she was able to trap it in an empty Rubbermaid(r) container, and then release it outside.  The leftover adrenaline had kept her from sleeping, so when she heard me come up the stairs she poked her head out to let me know what had happened.

So all’s well that ends well.  My guys checked my room anyway just to make sure there hadn’t been two bats, then got their hugs and headed on home.  I didn’t see my housemate the next day, but Sunday morning when I came down for breakfast the question was, “So, who were those two hot guys in my hallway Friday night?” And really, how do you answer a question like that?

